Oust Johnny Bravo!

“ENOUGH ABOUT ME. Now let’s talk about…me.” –Johnny Bravo, American animated series created by Van Partible

I am not sure why, but somehow children are always fascinated by animated films. To be honest, I was no different when I was young. I remember that cartoon characters used to make me jump with joy. I never miss an episode of The Powerpuff Girls, and oh boy, how I hated Mojojojo. Back then, I always find myself engrossed with the endless chasing of Tom and Jerry, the wacky plots in Dennis the menace, and even with the misadventures of Cow and Chicken.

But apart from the above-mentioned, I do have my personal favorite. When I was a kid, I recall skipping meals just to see him on TV. Well, brace yourselves. He is no other than the narcissistic Johnny Bravo. (Did I just hear someone say, “Whoa, momma!”?)

Well, we might have had different childhoods (and cable networks), so I cannot assume that you all know the overconfident cartoon character that I am referring to. Let me just give you a short description, shall I?

Johnny Bravo is the main character in his self-titled cartoon series. He is incredibly in love with himself, which is why girls despise him. His brainless pick-up lines are literally funny that it drives the women mad. And I am not just referring to ordinary lines, okay? I am talking about I-bet-your-name-is-Mickey-because-you’re-so-fine-you’re-so-fine-you-blow-my-mind kind of lines. See what I mean? Believe me. It is even more hilarious on screen.

Sadly, that cartoon habit of mine was forgotten when I entered high school, and more so when I entered college. It is a wonder why kids seem to enjoy this sort of idealism and fantasy, and then afterwards they grow up realizing that all of the things they actually believed in were unreal and just part of something called fiction.

Nowadays, I do not watch cartoons anymore. Today I see a clearer picture. Time taught me to think more rationally and believe in things more reasonably.

Surprisingly, I still see Johnny Bravo, or at least the likes of him. I see them on TV, not anymore on Cartoon Network, but on the news. They are the talk of the town almost every night. And since 2010 elections are drawing nearer, I am expecting to see more of them on print ads and commercials, declaring familiar and silly promises in order to attract voters.

Apparently, things have changed for me. As a kid, I used to like Johnny Bravo. But now that I have grown up, more knowledgeable and less naive, I have no more reason to be fascinated by him anymore.

Johnny Bravo is so in love with himself, just like our politicians who say a lot of flowery words about themselves during campaigns and in front of the public.

Johnny Bravo does not think before he acts, a lot like our government officials seated on their air-conditioned public offices who do not get tired in robbing the people’s money.

Johnny Bravo is conceited. Like some of our so-called leaders, he cannot do anything else rather than to talk about himself. In reality, they do not know anything about service because what they vie for is power and power alone.

Even inside the ivory-clad walls of our alma mater, Johnny Bravos continue to linger. Last academic year 2008-2009, the most controversial Student Council election in the College of Arts and Sciences took place, following a campus-wide dispute why the presidential seat still remains untaken. Rules have been violated, power has been abused, and traditions have been broken.

Politics is no Cartoon Network. It is not a popularity contest and neither is it for politicians who run only to fulfil their own personal intentions. It is not for leaders who vow to serve no one else but themselves. It is not for individuals who are willing to go beyond what is just so as to get what they want.

The essence of an election is first taught and learned in school. Policies are not made to be manipulated, because an honest and unprejudiced nation has no room for hypocrisy.

It has no room for Johnny Bravo.

Leave a Reply

