Closet 101

“What you wear is how you present yourself to the world.” -Miuccia Prada

Last Saturday, I was reading this book by Nina Garcia, the fashion editor of Marie Claire magazine. I was having tons of fun with it and suddenly it inspired me to re-evaluate my wardrobe. However, when I opened my closet, I realized how difficult it is for me to go through each piece of clothing that I have. There’s just too much stuff going on, and to be honest I’m not exactly the most organized woman on the face of the earth.

In the process, I had to part with some of my most-prized possessions. For each and every clothing, I asked myself (more than twice for some) if I still need it in my wardrobe. I was emotional at first, but I got over myself. In fact, when I was done, it was a breath of fresh air. My new closet is organized, functional, and very me (after I got rid of the stuff which I don’t even wear anyway).

And you know those three important things I learned from this? Oh, I jot them down for you! Because really, you should try it too.

Get rid of those that you don’t wear because they don’t look good on you.
If it doesn’t make you feel beautiful, then it doesn’t deserve a space in your wardrobe. Go for those which make you comfortable in your own skin and ditch the drama of keeping something you’re not even sure you can make use of. Say sorry to whoever bought you the crap, because tonight you’re cleaning out your closet.

Mend those that you don’t wear because they don’t fit well.
Find a good tailor who can do the alterations for you. If you can do it on your own, even better. No one would give a damn if it’s expensive. If Chanel doesn’t fit you, then you can’t make it look like Chanel. And that, my dear, is a serious crime in fashion.

Choose whatever needs to stay- and choose carefully!
Know your body type and what flatters you best. It’s impeccably convenient if you can pull out something from your closet and immediately know that you will look stunning in it. Most importantly, make sure you’ve got all the basics. Don’t forget the black dress, the white shirt, and that pair of blue jeans that never gets old.

And if after all my advice your closet suddenly makes you feel like some fashionista who’s ready to conquer the world, well, you’re welcome!

*      *      *

Thank you to my ultimately chic dormmate, April Japzon, for lending me The Little Black Book of Style. And thank you Nina Garcia for inspiring me and millions of other women! :D

Posted with WordPress for BlackBerry.

Leave a Reply

