Back to school

It’s official.

My first day at the Fashion Institute of the Philippines will begin this Saturday, 16th of April 2011. I am enrolled at last, and I’m absolutely feeling giddy while writing this down. My high fashion dreams are, well, still high, but slowly becoming reachable. Hence, please excuse this 21-year old lady (fine!) girl if she’s jumping for joy in the middle of blogging.

Let me give you a brief history: My love for Barbie goes all the way back since kindergarten. I remember how I used to enjoy dressing (or wrapping, rather) my dolls with cut out fabrics that I had desperately sewn together, practicing my pathetic running stitch technique which I learned from basic home economics class.

But cross my heart, I have never seen this coming… okay, probably not until mid high school.

But before then, I grew up single-mindedly believing that I am just like any other typical girl who loves clothes and dress-up games. Apparently, while most women are in total bliss when shopping, I am feeling the same kind of euphoria when sewing. But don’t get me wrong, I still believe there can be no medication on earth that is as effective as retail therapy.

Nonetheless, I am officially back to school. This time, not with a pen and paper, but with threads and needles. So as I pinch myself to verify whether this is real or not, I shall end this blog entry with these last words: I am sew excited! :D

*     *     *

…On second thought, let me end this blog entry with my photos wearing my favorite pair of DIY denim shorts. I designed this one myself. So, what do you think?

I apologize if it’s the connector ring on focus instead of the details of the shorts. This photo was originally meant for my Lookbook account.

Speaking of Lookbook.nu, hype here please! :)