Project: Flared Dress

I was beguiled at first sight when I spotted on the movie poster for One Day. It was the perfect kiss, the perfect atmosphere, and the perfect vintage fashion. Tell me, who did not fall in love with Anne Hathaway and her flared skirt paired with those Dr. Martens boots? I, for one, am besotted. I told myself I must create a look similar to it, hence the challenge: Design a flared dress inspired by Emma Morley of One Day.

The Inspiration: Emma Morley of One Day (photo by cinemablend.com)

Materials: Navy blue fabric (printed), zipper, small buttons in beige, bias tape

The fabric caught my attention because of the print. It has scissors on it and a tape measure at the hem. It looked so enticing for someone like me who’s into sewing and fashion design. Plus, I thought the color was perfect, exactly the shade of blue that I wanted.

Compared to Emma Morley’s classic urban style in the movie poster, I did a tube dress to make it seem more feminine. My intention was to get an inspiration out of it, and not to copy the entire look. To tweak it some more, I paired the dress with my Forever 21 loafer boots. It’s the closest that I have to Doc Martens signature footwear. Also redundant with ribbons as you may notice, I am obviously a lot more girly.

This is the second dress that I made myself. I think I’m learning something new every time, so I’m taking it positively while practicing. Wish me luck on that! :)

Dress (self-made) | loafer boots (Forever 21) | necklace (from Singapore) | bracelet (Simple Joys) | robot ring (from Greenhills) | studded ring (Forever 21)

Photography by Mark Clemente

| Like this blog on Facebook |

| Hype this look on Lookbook |